22 years drinking messed my life, quit 4 months ago. 6 noteworthy things

I had been drinking regularly, every other day, for 22 years. One day, 4 months ago, I just stopped, and haven’t looked at a drink since. I do not wish to touch another drink again for the rest of my life, because 22 years of bondage says I can’t handle alcohol.

1. Every bad thing that has ever happened to me had something to do with alcohol

2. Nothing constructive has ever come out of any drinking episode, just money down the drain, often worse.

3. All good things happened when I had not drank for as little as a day or two

4. I lost roughly $100,000 in potential savings, maybe more in missed opportunities. Instead, I’m mired in debt, zero savings and a family to fend for. Alcohol robbed me blind.

5. The last straw, I got in a near-deadly highway accident while driving my innocent spouse. The police officer on scene said to me, “My friend, stop your drinking and stop endangering your wife. If you want to continue your senseless drinking, leave your wife at home, go drink and crash alone, we’ll come and scoop your remains off the tarmac with shovels as we do all the time. Leave your family out of it". That shook me to the bone. I walked away from the accident and quietly realised drinking would kill me and destroy my family. I wanted nothing to do with alcohol ever again.

6. My health is transformed, my life and marriage are rejuvenating by the day. I have no simple explanation for this sudden transformation. I can only say God heard the endless prayers of my loved ones and me and rescued me from certain death and destruction. In Satan’s quest to ‘Steal, Kill and Destroy’, alcohol is a potent arrow in his quiver that delivers all three.

“Dear God, I can’t do this by myself. I have tried and failed. Show me mercy and deliver me from this problem before it destroys me. Come to my rescue, save me and transform my life. I believe you are able. In Jesus’ name. Amen”.