7th rehab in a year

So I’ve been to 6 inpatient facilities in the past year. I’m about to go to my 7th one this Sunday. I’ve been doing drugs since I was 12. I’ve been doing drugs for 14 years. This life seems the only normal one. My life is in ruins. I’m homeless, jobless, can’t see my kid, but still I seem to get high. I really want to turn my life around but it seems impossible after so many relapses…

2 Likes

Hi there. Nothing is impossible if you want it bad enough. Do you feel ready to make a change? If so, you are well on your way. Good luck to you.

1 Like

A friend, after elite schools for high school, college, and grad school and blowing a potential professional sports career, found himself at the wrong end of a drinking and drug problem. He aced the first 5 or so rehabs he attended (including the nice ones) and drank the day he got out of many (if not all) and was homeless for years.
He just celebrated north of 25 years clean and sober.

Yes it can be done, but the willing to be willing starts with you. As somebody here aptly puts it, you have to fight like that third monkey trying to get on the ark for your sobriety. That means take the suggestions in the rehab, read the literature, do the work, and plan what post-rehab looks like for you, a sober living situation, a sober coach, or an extended rehab, as well as how you are going to plug into NA/AA after rehab.

You are worth a sober life and can have it if you are willing to do the work. My friend is an example that it can be done. I can’t tell you it is easy, but I can tell you it is worth it.

:goat:

13 Likes

Just keep trying man iv been to like 14 of them last year.sucks but if we fall get back up an keep pushing

2 Likes

Just attending rehabs is not going to sort the problem out.
Ok, I’m British, so don’t know too much about them, but my understanding is that you could do these things just going through the motions.