About to hit 90d

Hello, everyone. I’m accessing the forums using the app. I’ve been using the app for six months or so, but only now registered for these discussion groups.

I’m at 2 months, 19 days. My drug is alcohol. I’ve been abusing alcohol since about 2008. Went to treatment in April 2010, October 2010, and May 2016. Those three times were 45-day stays at a place called “12 Oaks” in Pensacola, FL.

The treatment center was very AA-centered, steeped in AA teachings and traditions, and of course encouraged basically making a lifestyle of AA stuff upon leaving. There were lessons, psychological and scientific, about what alcoholism was and why I had it, and some coping mechanisms were covered, relapse prevention and similar issues, but it was mostly AA.

When I left, I tried AA off and on, and the meetings nearly always depressed me. It’s a program and philosophy that simply does not work for me. It works for many others-- I’m not downing the program in general. Just not for me.

Now I’ve made it the longest period EVER since 2008. The difference is naltrexone. It is meant to make one stop drinking once started, but also has the effect of just lowering the impulse. Lessening the power of cravings to make them easier to get past. And like AA, I’m sure it works for some and not others.

For a while the problem I had with the medicine was one of compliance. Why would I take it if I wanted to drink? Once I managed to make myself take it for more than two weeks, though, I admitted it was working and I liked the streak I was on. Then the streak just grew and grew and now here I am.