Achievement unlocked

I paid off the student loans this weekend! For the first time in decades (yikes…) I’m completely without debt. :partying_face:

Over 3.5 years ago I was closer to losing it all than I realized at the time, my job included. What started as being an inch from getting let go turned into several promotions.

That was never the goal (though I was grateful :sweat_smile:). I only wanted to do better by the people who had been so gracious with the old, PITA, drunk me. I felt ashamed, realizing the wreckage my self-inflating, over-promising, under-delivering ways was doing to those around me. I was given an opportunity to turn things around, and not just for myself. My job went from resentment to something I take pride in with a team. And I’m still learning daily how best to be of service.

As a result, in the past few years I find myself financially ahead for the first time in my entire adult life. I got aggressive repaying my student loan debt in the past couple years, while even starting a small nest egg.

And just like that, here we are. Completely debt free, liberated, and in a position to keep growing if I just keep my eyes on the prize.

34 Likes

That is so awesome! You actually wrangled a unicorn! I want one…

1 Like

Now this is cause for much celebration! Awesome brother

3 Likes

Congratulations!!! Umm, can I get $100 to fill up my truck?

3 Likes

Congratulations!! Such a fine achievement!!

2 Likes

That is awesome! Congratulations!!! :tada::tada::tada:

1 Like

Truck fill up for only $100? Sounds like a steal. :weary:

4 Likes

What an awesome accomplishment! That must have been a huge weight lifted.

2 Likes

My high score, so far is $107! I was making it rain up in that camp!

But at least you know where your extra cash is going to be going…

2 Likes

That’s wonderful! Congratulations :tada::hugs::+1::bouquet::balloon::sun_with_face::confetti_ball::kite:

1 Like

This is amazing! What a great thing! Congratulations!

1 Like

Congrats!!!