Alcohol and Brandon

Well I’m pretty new to this app. I discovered it yesterday when I decided I needed some advice and encouragement. So I figure it’s best to start this journey telling my story to you.

I’ve been an alcoholic since I was 16 years old. I remember my friends and I used to stay drunk every weekend pouring into Week days. Sometimes we would skip school just because we would get so slammed the evening before that we couldn’t function the next morning. Just kids having fun right?

Then came college. I’d didn’t go to college LOL but I lived on the couch of all my friends that did just partying with them between them going to class and making something of themselves while I was just the designated drinking buddy.
Well that led to 5 minor in possessions, 2 drunk in public’s, and a DUI for me. All before 21! Go me right?

After my DUI I got a job back in my home town at a beer distributor (very fitting) to pay for all of my legal bills. I winded up working there for a couple years and evening getting my commercial drivers license. But even with things going well in my adult career life I still reached alcohol every time I got home.

I eventually left the beer distributor and took a job on the road as a construction contractor for railroads. I became a foreman and life was good. I had two little girls. My oldest is 3 and my youngest is 1 which slowed my drinking down for a few months after each were born. But it really wasn’t too long before I got back into drinking every single night. At my worst which was two weeks ago I was up to at least an 18 pack every night. If it was beer it was whatever alcohol I could get my hands on or down to the bar I went… It makes me sick of myself to think back on how much I’ve messed up and things I’ve missed out on because I couldn’t put down alcohol.