All alone but why. Confused?

I came clean about my addiction I’ve been hiding for 21 years, looking for support to get clean and become a better person. Only close everyone and everything. I now have no one around me even my kids, homeless. Friendless and jobless. So again why an I 23 days clean and still fighting my thoughts to just give in. High I had a house, food, family, friends, job and husbands. Wtf? No one even knew I was on dope. I wanted help to stop so the lies could stop so I could just love me again. Now look I worthless and alone.

6 Likes

Hi Heidi. Welcome. I was in the same position two years ago. I had a pretty respectable life minus the alcoholism. Finally one day I lost it all. A beautiful home. A 20 + year career, my wife and kids. Everything! I spent the holidays in 2017 sleeping in my truck in the desert which eventually got repo’d also. I felt so lonely, and hopeless. It was that unbearable emotional pain that finally pushed me to get sober. I’ve been sober almost a year and a half now. My life doesn’t look like it did before, but I wouldn’t trade what I have now for a drop of alcohol. It sounds to me like you’re ready to get clean. Search around the conversations, there is a lot of knowledge and experience here. Reach out and make friends here. The support is overwhelming. Good luck to you and believe that whether you can see it or not, there is a better life waiting for you on the other side of addiction.

4 Likes

you want to love you again. that is a fantastic start.

sobriety isnt easy but its worth it. hounestly its prob the most important thing ive ever got into.

i have 4 days sober and17 years of hating myself and everyone around me. you dont know what you got till its gone

you will have cravings and even withdraw maybe. DONT GIVE IN TO DRUGS OR ALCOHOL. id rather crave then a hangover.