At a halfway house. 51 days sober. Missing my family

Hey all. Im going through some pain tonight as im reflecting. After a long drinking binge, catching a charge, putting my gf and family through hell…again, losing a great job and losing temporary custody of my daughter. I was out of options. Enough was enough. I Chose to come stay at lighthouse recovery home and its been really good for me. Ive found another really good job. Got lots of support. A good sponser. Just seen my kid and gf and they miss me being home like crazy. The court was gracious and granted temp custody to my gf and shes been doing it all on her own. I miss my home and fam. Feel guilty for having to be away getting to fix and work on me while they struggle is hard. Annyones insight would be nice thanks all

12 Likes

Thanks for sharing with me. Its def tough. Being sober is for sure helping. Im totally new to this app so im learning how it all works

4 Likes

:grin: it sure is different. But something i think i needed. An ice bucket challenge for the soul lol

5 Likes

Honestly, if you didn’t do this where would you be? I know the lonelyness has to really suck. But you have been given a second chance and if you stay with it, they never have to see you like that again. That is a real gift.

5 Likes

Very true. Thanks goat

1 Like

Hey man, welcome to the forum.

You got 51 days now, and it’s thanks to being at the house and focusing on you right? You ever get to 51 days out there? Without the structured support of the house?

I can understand feeling guilty, you’re human. How much good will you be to them if you leave too early, don’t have solid sober foundation to stand on and sink the ship again?