Back after falling off the wagon hard!

Well I’m back I was on last year summer time doing so well in my recovery something happened and I plummeted hard I have since had my meds changed I’m now on antipsychotics and mood stabilisers which has made so much of a difference! I’m 15 days dry and haven’t thought about alcohol just thought about accomplishing another day!
I know I drank mainly to get rid of my mind and the fact I am a chronic alcoholic.
But with my new meds I feel what people would call normal I guess if this is what normal is I’ve been missing out for so many years, I can hand on heart say it’s dawned on me that I’ve never been thankful to be alive and now every day I wake up thankful for another shot at life.

12 Likes

Zsazsa welcome back, in sorry to hear that you relapsed hard, I did the same thing myself a couple of months ago but your here having another stab at it, that’s what is important right now. I’m not sure they’re is such a thing as normal tbh though I know that how you used to feel is likely far from what most people experience. It’s good that your new medication regimen seems to level you out, isn’t it a great feeling to wake up feeling happy and positive!? I felt that way on Sunday morning I just felt great, as though nothing could ruin my day!! It’s important that we know it is okay to not be okay sometimes. Anyway I’m happy that you are back, they’re are some great online recovery meetings going on at the moment, I don’t know if you used them as a resource for your recovery before your relapse but it may be a good time to give them a try!? :+1::+1::slightly_smiling_face::slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like