Camera Enthusiasts?

I had a slr film in highschool and loved it but my interests quickly changed to just getting high.

I’m looking to start this hobby back up and heard this is a good time of year to find deals on older models. But, I don’t really know what I’m looking at.

I’m leaning towards a DSLR but wondering if Mirrorless might be the way to go. The bundle packages sure are enticing but it is better to just buy a body and one or two better quality lenses? Ideally something user friendly for beginners but with plenty of features to grow into. Googling is getting overwhelming.

Anyone have any tips, suggestions, resources, etc…

3 Likes

I dont have any suggestions but I used to be the same way in high school. Always had a camera in my bag and I trudged around my dads gigantic camcorder to tape all our fun antics. But lost all creative desire once I graduated so theres a huge chunk of my life that was never documented. Probably for the best bc it was a dark time. Hope you find what you’re looking for! :film_projector::camera_flash:

2 Likes

Digital Photography Review is one of the oldest, most thorough and reliable places to research your purchase.

More specifically to you, check out the buying guides section to quickly shortlist the best options in your budget and most suitable for the type of work you want to focus on.

5 Likes

Hey @Jane.c, so I’ve got recommendations but it’s really hard to talk cameras without talking money too. Do you have a ballpark amount you want to spend on the body?

Some other guiding questions (just assuming you’re well versed in photo stuff so let me know if you don’t know):

1. Do you care about Full-Frame vs. Crop Sensors
  2. Do you care about eco-system loyalty (Canon w/ Canon lenses, Fuji with Fuji lenses, etc)
  3. Do you care about shooting video? If so, for what purpose? More pro stuff or just for fun?