Cleared a week sober, caved and had two glasses of wine

Bleh

Wasn’t particularly dramatic, just insidious and from the routine of 12 hour shift —> bar. One pinot, one spanish blend. Made me cranky about the lack of effort I percieve my bf putting in our relationship. Booze = resentment immediately, yikes

I am going to confirm my therapy appointment for the week, and email my manager letting her know that I am not available for double shifts here after. Restarted my clock, wish me well through finals week! :sparkles:

3 Likes

Relapse isn’t the end…just do your best not to pick up. Maybe eliminate all alcohol within your house. Stay away from places that serve it for a while until you feel you can finally say no. Avoid routes if at all possible that have a liquor store on the way…stay strong friend

2 Likes

Have never kept it in the house; only ever have been a bar person. I’ve always known keeping it in the house only leads to crud.

I work in the service industry so I’m around it all the time. (And no, right now I cannot change jobs and make a living wage while I finish my degree, but yes, I do work with sober people including my manager so I don’t work in a party environment which is v v v helpful). Last night was just 12 hours of Easter and entitled families and nightmare people all weekend and I was a weak baby about it.

Thank you for your encouragement, I don’t feel bad/hungover/unmotivated but I will look up a meeting directory for young people today. I do not like AA when its full of grizzled war story soldiers so maybe I can find a young person’s group so that this doesn’t happen again next week.

1 Like

Sounds like you handled this relapse very gracefully! Glad you’re back, and stay strong! Best of luck with your finals. You got this!

2 Likes