Dealing with Spouse

Hey folks, I have a question about dealing with significant others who aren’t in recovery.

A little context: I’ve been in AA for about a year and a half now and have been able to maintain my sobriety. However, my significant other has been getting super frustrated and pissy with me, if I’m being honest, about when I go to meetings lately. And I’m not sure if it really has anything to do with the fact I’m not spending time with her because I leave for meetings at 7:15 at night and she’ll be in bed before 8:00 anyway.

I’m just under a lot of pressure with it all because we have a 4 year old together and I’m also in my last semester of school and I’m really struggling to keep it all together. Being in school, a lot of my time is taken up with schoolwork so I spend a lot of time with that and I also try to go to at least 4 meetings per week. I feel like I’m being nagged on to basically give up either school or meetings because she feels she needs my attention and when I try and talk to her, it usually ends up with some sort of argument or a passive aggressive remark from her.

I’d just like some advice on how to handle this. I’ve tried suggesting Al-Anon but I think shes under the impression that it’s for crazy people or something and just won’t say that. She told me last week she’d be willing to go to Al-Anon but that I have to find somebody to take her.

Edit: I should probably add too that both work and school for me are being done online so my meetings are pretty well the only way I get to leave the house.

6 Likes

She just has to understand that your recovery comes first no exceptions. I mean for me personally if my sobriety didn’t come first alcohol would.

Do you guys do a date night? Setting a night aside each week for her may help??

2 Likes