Depressed and wanting to feel better

Hi, this is my first time posting. I’ve had the app for a few months and have just been reading everyone’s posts, so I think I may find someone on here that can relate and/or offer some advice. I have 142 days sober from alcohol, I went to rehab for 30 days in October, but picked up after a week when I went back to work and got fired. I go to meetings, I got a sponsor, and I was able to stop but I’m not happy, joyous, and free at all. I’m severely depressed and anxious all the time. When I’m not at work (I got another job that I hate and resigned from and have 2 more weeks left) or at meetings I’m in bed watching tv or trying to sleep. I’m not doing a great job of keeping my house clean or making dinner for my children. I just want to hide from everything. I know I have to get out of this funk but I have no motivation. I know I should pick up the phone and call other people in the program, but I always feel like a burden and like I’m going to bring people down. I’m thinking I should speak to a therapist, but I figure until then I can get out my feelings here. Thanks for letting me share.

2 Likes

Hi, I am on Effexor but I think I need something added to that.

There’s definitely nothing wrong with getting outside help. The majority of people I know in the rooms, myself included, see trained professionals. My theory is find support anywhere you can get it. It does get better, but sometimes it doesn’t happen as quickly as we’d like, or we only focus on the bad things. I know a lot of people who would be happy to have any job or a house to call their own. For me remembering how bad things used to be helps me appreciate the now. Try starting a gratitude list and adding three things to it each day. Learn to appreciate the little things that we overlooked during our addiction. For example it was cloudy and cold today, but I looked it like it would be a nice day to get some miles on the bike bc I wouldn’t get to sweaty.

5 Likes