Did you set up a reward system for milestones? Share yours

Was just curious if people use rewards as an additional motivator in staying sober?
The light math says that after a year I will have saved a minimum of $4750. That only counts drinking at home, doesn’t account for drinks out on the town.
I’m going to put that $ into an account and treat myself to a vacation that I have been dreaming about for the past 10-12 years.

28 Likes

I usually go pick up a chip at a meeting and go out to dinner.

14 Likes

For me it mostly goes into savings and my Kombucha (non-alco type) habit. I am also making mortgage payments and have a financial advisor now. So I guess you could say it’s going toward constructive rather than destructive things now. I also usually take a token at 2 or 3 meetings, or “go on tour” as they say!

7 Likes

Good for you
I have looked what spent on alcohol and I will be saving it to buy me a pomeranian and I am gonna call him ether Alfie or Reggie
So I am starting my puppy account now
Good luck to you and once your in your dream holiday enjoy every second you earned it
Life is so much more clearer

6 Likes

I’m kind of doing the same! I’m saving up to adopt a dog from a shelter and also just start a fund for animal healthcare for my current kitty and any future pets. Love spending money on my animals and they dont seem to mind being spoiled :laughing:
Also a huge fan of tattoos so 10% is going towards a tattoo fund

5 Likes

That’s a good amount of savings! Congrats :smiley:
I’m splitting my money between a savings account for pets and getting more tattoos. I think it’s great to reward yourself with something you love! One man’s dream vacation is another womans scruffy shelter dog and ink :woman_shrugging:
Keep up the good work! :heart:

2 Likes

I’ve never heard of a sobriety pendant but now having looked that up it’s a beautiful reminder of your journey and accomplishments! Thanks for sharing, I might just follow your lead here :smiley:

3 Likes