Drugs and love

Hi. I’m new to all this, denial is a hell of an addictive drug. I’m 14 days clean from the worse thing I have ever touched. I have started the 12 step program and taken time off of work to heal and learn. I keep letting the person connected to all of this into my life and I don’t know why. I know he is the root, has the means of procurement, and isn’t kind to me, but I can’t seem to quit him. It’s like I need to quit HIM AND THE DRUG at the same time and I am struggling hard. I have looked up trauma bonding and love bombing (both are true) and I still can’t quit. THIS IS BRUTAL. 14 days clean of crack, still mixed up with the user/abuser. Any advice/same experiences?

9 Likes

Hi, idk if this helps or not. Buy my drug of choice is alcohol. And when I first got really bad 8 years ago I realized it was because the people I surrounded myself with. I decided to make a huge change in life and move away. Going some where new and getting a new perspective on everything is a big help. Also coming on here is a good step. Quiting someone is almost harder than our addictions. If you ever want to talk please private message me im back sober again and it helps to talk with others.

4 Likes

3 Likes

I dont have this experience, but I do want to say that you deserve a sober and happy life. The steps that it takes to get there are often hard, but the results are worth it.

Wish you well.

1 Like