Feel like I'm drowning

Hi there. I’m new to the app and don’t really know where to begin. I’ve recently come to the realization that I am most definitely an addict and I also struggle w bipolar disorder and more than likely a few other mental health problems. I have destroyed most of my relationships and more than anything I have destroyed myself. I am feeling very lost right now and unsure. I just started taking my medication for bipolar so I’m hoping with some time that should help ease these nervous feelings. I’m also finding it very difficult to open up and face my past. I’m having very irrational thoughts and I’m taking them out on the few ppl I have left in my life, my family and my roommate. Everyday I feel like I am in a constant battle with myself. There’s this voice in my head that tells me to just give up. That I’m worthless and incapable. That the world would more than likely be better off without me. Has anyone else felt this way before? What did you find helped you cope?

Hi and welcome. My thing is alcohol. However I can relate to the feelings you are having. There were times I was so depressed and nothing mattered. I wasn’t living I was existing.

I new something had to change because I was not happy and I had isolated myself from almost everyone.

I quit drinking because I wanted better. The pain had over ome the fear not to drink. Fast forward to now and it was the best choice I could have made.

I would suggest talking to your doctor and getting in a program. That’s what I did and it worked. You can also try NA meetings. You will meet others with the same issue and make friends. You will find the support you need.

Keep coming back here. It’s a great place and there are fantastic people here.

You can do this!

3 Likes

Ive definitely felt this way… In fact, it would be difficult to find anyone on this forum that hasn’t struggled in the way your describing yourself!