Feeling alone in recovery

Hey I’m new to this app, but I’m hoping to connect with people. I’m in my 20’s and I’ve been sober for 4 year from cocaine and almost a year from alcohol. I hate who I was when feeding my addictions, but I also feel so alone in my sobriety.

I feel like no one knows how severe my addictions were, or the things that happened. I just feel alone in my sobriety and sometimes like who even cares if I stay sober. I just want people to care about me and give some credit to how hard it actually is to stay sober. I always crave validation, I wish I could just be happy enough to be proud of myself, but I don’t know. It’s weird and I don’t know how to explain it. This might not even make sense, or even get any responses.

It’s be so nice if this app is kind of like AA or support groups. I’ve always wanted to go but I have horrible anxiety, so I can’t get myself to go haha I’m not sure how to end this, anyways… :heart:

21 Likes

I totally get the anxiety part and it’s good that you’re reaching out here. I just joined yesterday and it’s already helping me by getting support I need. I don’t feel so alone because everyone is doing the deal. Congratulations on having so much sobriety time THAT’S AMAZING!!! I hope you can make some good connections on here, the people are really caring and supportive. Have a great day!

5 Likes

maybe try a zoom meeting sit in your apartment dont have to go out ,your doing great wish you well

4 Likes

Thank you! Yeah that’s a great idea, maybe I’ll give that a shot :blush:

2 Likes

Awh thank you so much!! It took a few goes before sobriety stuck. That makes me super happy to hear though! I look forward to using this app more now haha :yum:

2 Likes

Welcome to this awesome forum. This is a great place to make connections. Sometimes just chatting with others in your situation makes it so much easier.

6 Likes

Thank you! Honestly just everyone’s welcoming response makes me happy already :heart:

2 Likes