Feeling crazy

Hey everyone, I’m new to this app and honestly am looking for anything and anyone to talk to and help me get my head out of my ass.

I’ve been clean and sober for almost 4 months. I’ve never had this long in my entire life, since I was 12 years old I’ve been using drugs and alcohol every day of my life.

Today I’m just struggling, it’s like I don’t want to pick up and I know for s fact it wouldn’t make me feel better. But I can’t stop obsessing about it. Like my mental obsession, my spiritual malady is back and it feels like regardless of the fact that I don’t WANT it, all the signs of relapse are here.

Help!! What to do

First of all – congratulations on staying sober for 4 months! That’s no small feat.

You fought for every single one of those days, and you certainly don’t want to give those up. I don’t believe that you will give them up, either.

The two things that always, always help me get through a craving:

1. Exercise. Can’t stress this one enough. Clears the mind, provides solitutude, natural endorphins. The list is endless.
  2. Sleep. Not the most feasible depending on time of day and what your obligations are, but if you’re really stuck and can do so – sleep. Any craving I was having is gone by the time I wake up.

Really anything to give your mind something else to work on. You know what they say about idle hands.

Stay strong!

2 Likes

You sound like you’ve been through a program, have you been to a meeting lately?

3 Likes

I have. I try to get to one every night.

I’m at my moms visiting her today and she’s sick and then I’m sick so now we’re borh just being gross and in bed eating food watching TV lol and I don’t want to go to a meeting tonight. But I know I SHOULD

2 Likes