For all of you who have quit smoking

I have been smoking for over 10 years, I’m 9 days sober and am planning to quit smoking on Monday. I chain smoke in the morning with my coffee. I was going to buy a disposable ecig for the first few mornings just to be able to have a puff if I’m going crazy. Any other advice?? I figure if I can quit drinking, I should be able to do this too. I waited so I was not trying to quit too much at one time. Is it too early to quit something else? Thanks in advance for any advice and suggestions!!

1 Like

I quit smoking two years before I quit drinking so I’m not sure about doing it all together. Nothing Is impossible. Keep drinking your plenty of water…when you want a cig, drink a tall glass of cold water. I used cinnamon altoids for a while. And lots of chewing gum (but beware bad ingredients especially for IBS sufferers and also lots of chewing can cause tension headaches). There are good apps that have timelines that tell you how your body has improved in real time as well as milestones achieved. Its hard but you will be soooooo grateful not to be a slave to nicotine anymore. It took me a couple times to quit cigs even relapsed after a year but every time you quit you increase your chances…

2 Likes

This is really inspiring me to quit I smoke 2 packs a day and I’m 26 and wheeze and cough worse than my grandma lol the elderly lady next door took a walk with me to the pop machine and was fine while I felt like I’d taken a two mile run in under five mins. … So embarrassing. I think if your past withdrawal it’d b a great idea to quit it all at once. I can imagine how much your health would improve & for the record your awesome :wink:

2 Likes

I quit smoking when I was 10 months sober. The first week without cigarettes, I was going insane and wanted to drink after not wanting to drink for MONTHS. The withdrawal from cigarettes made me CRAVE alcohol.