Fundraiser stuff

20 twenty characters 20

3 Likes

I raise money each year for cancer research. I do most of the fundraising via Facebook and it goes straight to the charity. You can check your charity if it’s large enough on charity navigator.

As far as opioid charities go, I saw local is better. We have a couple here in Syracuse I work with occasionally. I’d call a local rehab or public health agency to see who is doing what.

Also remember that some charities have paid staff and physical locations, both of which create overhead. Your donation may go towards that, which is just as important.

3 Likes

Great idea IL sponsor you keep me posted @anon86726034

Keep me posted if it’s something you go ahead with.x

I know it is all for a good cause; however, no links to fundraisers please.

From the forum rules…

"Do not use Talking Sober as a fundraising or promotion platform. "

Thanks for checking first! :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

I work as a fundraiser. A couple of things…

Contact the charity you want to support when you decide. They should be able to help with fundraising tips. Definitely set up an online giving page, worth asking the charity which is best for them (different platforms take different fees). If you know a lot of people that still prefer cash then ask for sponsorship forms as well.

In terms of raising money, you got to ask! I found doing regular training updates on my Facebook page (along with a link to donate) made a big difference. I did a walk so I could do videos as I was walking round, and I took photos and shared them too, I got quite a few donationson the day. The charity also shared my fundraising page on social media and for some donations that way. If you go down the sponsorship form route (you can do both) then get one up in your staff room and also keep on one you.