Ghost hangover

It’s day 26 today, nearly a month of sobriety and I feel like I got hit with a sledgehammer. The nausea and pounding headache feel just like I did when I was still drinking heavily, but I haven’t had a drop of alcohol in weeks.

I’ve read about others experiencing this in the past, this is my first time with it. :confused: Suckyyyy

13 Likes

Have you been drinking lots of water? Could be stress, could be a bug, could be dehydration. A good reminder of how crappy booze made you feel I bet. Hope you feel better soon.

8 Likes

Plenty yes, I carry around a water bottle everywhere I go now and drink around 3 of them daily, around 80-100 ish oz a day so doubt dehydration is the issue

Definitely a good reminder, I do remember waking up daily with a slight headache every single morning with the head fog and all, I don’t miss it.

Thanks Dan

4 Likes

It’s still very early in your recovery and entirely plausible that your body is still adjusting. Do be gentle with yourself. Have you been able to incorporate an exercise routine into your recovery yet?

4 Likes

I have heard that. But it sure feels better when you realize you didn’t drink.

3 Likes

Does exercise really help feeling better all the way around?

1 Like

I am on day 24 and feel absolutely crap!! Head achey, tired, grumpy. Whole bag of mixed emotions. I didnt sleep too well last night so that has contibuted to my current state. I do find regular exercise helps - a mix of gym, swim and yoga.
Hope you wake up feeling better tomorrow
X

3 Likes

I need to exercise more

It can be beneficial for stress mood and anxiety

Water all the way also

4 Likes

Hang in there. I had ghost hangovers every morning for several weeks when I stopped drinking. It was so strange and really terrible but it eventually went away :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes