Happy Fathers Day, Sober Dads!

One of the most powerful things that has come from sobriety is genuine, appropriate, meaningful connections with other people. Throughout my recovery, the father figures among us have given me guidance I didn’t know I was in need of. I wasn’t receptive or ready at first, but you’ve been steadfast with your support. You’ve been there for the breakdowns, the celebrations, and all the weird stuff in between. I’ve learned that fathers are not the mythical perfect beings I always made you in my head, but that there are fathers (like y’all) who are working daily to become better.

Father’s day has always been a tough one for me, and this is my first time getting through the day without alcohol. My father is a huge jerk who has never faced his own addictions and caused a lot of pain in my life, so this is usually a day of remembering the things he put me through. This year I was prepared for that familiar thirsty pit in my stomach, and instead I’m feeling gratitude for all of the dads who have become my sober family.

Thank you for being you. For being open about your journey. For being dadly at heart, whether or not you have biological children. For listening, for sharing, and for being here. Have an excellent fathers day tomorrow!

Heart,
Little Miss Daddy Issues

29 Likes

:heart::heart::heart: happiest of Father’s Days to the guys out there. Remember, any guy out there can be a Father, but it takes a lot more to be a Dad.

11 Likes

Thank you @anon62920945. Those were very thoughtful words.

3 Likes

It’s so much easier to be a dad than it is to be perfect, it’s so much more rewarding too. Thanks for taking the time to recognize us, warms the coggles of my heart lady.

7 Likes

The prime reason I’m staying sober. Thank You for your very meaningful and heartfelt words and I hope you’ll have the opportunity tomorrow to make new and better memories of the day. All the best to you miss J.

7 Likes

Thanks for sharing this.