Has anyone else psychologically eliminated the urge?

Hey everyone, second post and I wanted to see if I’m the only one.

In my first post I mentioned a journal I’ve been keeping for a few months. In it, I would write out my feelings each day. I became my own coach, from the past. I would write in it as if I was talking to someone I was trying to help, and many of my entries were NOT nice.

I used it to taper myself down, bit by bit. When I failed, I would let my future self (the one reading) know just how disappointed I felt in that moment.

After a while, I started to feel like I was forcing myself to drink. My mind didn’t want it anymore, but my body would go through the motions, so I documented those feelings.

Then one day, I didn’t swing by the gas station. I drove straight home. I didn’t leave the house the entire weekend, and I haven’t had even a sip since. I have had temptations, but they are fleeting.

I’m only going on 3 weeks now, but I’ve been constantly keeping myself in the right mindset. Instead of radio, I listen to inspirational speeches about addiction, success, anything to help me live a better, fulfilling life.

One speech that really stuck with me was on youtube. No affiliation, but the title is “This speech will change your life.” It says “delete bad habits” in the thumbnail, if anyone wishes to look it up, I encourage them to do so!

In it, he talks about changing your mentality, your “state”. This was what got me to start my journal, and I effectively changed my outlook from thinking of alcohol as a good thing, to recognizing it as the negative force it had become in my life.

I apologize, I’m kind of rambling now. But, it feels good to share, and I just want to help others as they have helped me. I look forward to learning from everyone here and drawing motivation from all of you as well.

17 Likes

You can just link the video in here makes it easier for us to follow your suggestion :pray:t2:

Thank you in advance

2 Likes