Here I Am.....Again

Hello everyone… I’m new here and this is my first time posting anything. So, anyway… I recently had 105 days sober. i was able to achieve that because I was in a residential recovery house. Long story short, after that time I thought I was “strong enough” to maintain sobriety at home. Well, two weeks later and here I am again, in a different residential recovery house. Today was my first day in the new facility and I found myself very overwhelmed with having to start the whole process over… Meeting new people (females…so we know how that can be lol), learning the rules, attending groups and outside meetings, etc…etc… I obviously need the help and I clearly didn’t learn all that I needed to learn before. So, I realize I need to be here. I’m just pissed off that I’m doing this all over. I guess I’m just looking for any advice on how I can stop being upset with myself that my own actions put me right back here. I’m sure others can relate and if so, how did you get through it? Thanks everyone! :slightly_smiling_face:

8 Likes

I can completely relate to what you write here. I had 17 months sober until covid hit and had to work from home with no meetings available in person. I felt I had enough time sober and could do it on my own for a while and within a few weeks, I was hitting the bottle for 4 months.

It’s really hard not to beat yourself up over it and feel like you have to do it all over again, however; it helped me to remember that those days sober I had prior to relapsing weren’t lost. I still had the experience from that and it’s been helping this time around. I have 65 days today and sometimes it feels like a punch in the pants when I think of how little time I have now in comparison to before, but comparing myself to others or even my past self never did me any good. Just try to remember that no feeling is final. Glad you made it back and just remember, if you stick with the lows long enough, they’ll eventually turn into highs.

4 Likes