Hi everyone it's my first day but

Heya
I’ve been a full time musician for 10 years (I play guitar and sing in bars, clubs, weddings, events etc a few times a week) and I drink for free. So you can imagine how much I drink and I don’t have money as a motivator but my health is completely depleted.
First day sober today but I have a gig tomorrow and I have no idea how I’m going to get through it.

10 Likes

You could write a letter to yourself today. List all the reasons you have to quit. Write down how you feel right now - and take it to your gig. Read it before you pick up a drink.

Reach out here before you drink.

Do you have any sober friends? Could you call any of them, or could they come to your gig?

Hey, I’m really glad you said hi. I get it. I’m an alcoholic, and I understand how hard it is. But man, in the few months I’ve been sober, my life is exponentially better. I know yours can be too.

Please let me know how it goes tonight.

11 Likes

Cheers bro, good advice

2 Likes

You can do it and when you do please come and share with us.

4 Likes

Might be kinda cheesey but could you write a song about all the terrible things drinking brings you?

Welcome :blush:

And I second everything @MoCatt said, she’s got some great advice!

6 Likes

Live in the moment and remember how you love the music.

2 Likes

It my 1st day too.
4 years straight of drinking 95%ever day.

3 Likes

Welcome! Dont be afraid to speak into the mic! You sing great songs and messages , speak sencere to your crowd , that tell stories.Let them know that you would like to give it a try not drinking. For today only! One day at a time MEANS JUST THAT! You will see people will still love your music and respect you.free tea rocks!

3 Likes

Good luck! I work in a bar and I am going through the same thing. Need a career move but I’m going to miss the easy money. Stay strong. Focus on the music then leave if you have to.

1 Like