How to handle when literally everybody I know drinks!

This is my first post and I’m new to the boards. I’m 3 days sober but how do you all handle it when your friends and family all drink? I hate answering the question…why aren’t you drinking?? My husband knows my issue and he said he will be do whatever I need for support but he still is drinking. But then again…he doesn’t drink like I do.

I recently started riding a motorcycle and that has been my excuse lately. I just say that I don’t drink when I’m on my bike.

I know I probably need to be honest with folks but I’m so ashamed. I’m pretty high functioning until I’m not but really only my husband has seen the worst.

I had weight loss surgery almost 4 years ago and was never a big drinker until about 2 years ago. It has progressively gotten worse and I was drinking every day. I can’t eat a lot so I just replaced alcohol for food. I’m also seeing a counselor to deal with my transfer addiction.

Any thoughts? I look forward to this sober journey with you all!

2 Likes

(Excuse the list format, I am a list maker :0)

1. You aren’t anyone else. Drinking or not drinking is done for you. Not approval or fear of disapproval.
  2. You may well have to change friends, but what I think you’ll see is a lot of people aren’t necessarily your friend. They are friends w drinking, you just happen to be around when they do it.
  3. You may have to change places you go. I don’t go to the “drinking places” I used to go to drink.
    4… If you have your husband’s support, that’s what you need. My wife wouldn’t date me for 5+ years bc I drank. Today, even though I am perfectly ok w her drinking if she chose to, she chooses not to.

This addiction won’t kill your friends or your coworkers or whomever-else-you-are-concerned-with. It will kill you. That’s got to be the focus.