I am new at talking to anyone about my problems and struggles

Hi my name is Gage. I really don’t know how to express how I feel and all of that. I have always tried to take care of my problems myself. I always thought if I could get myself in the problems I ended up in I can figure out how to get myself out of them myself. But after 2 prison sentences 5 and a half years I can’t get back behind bars and away from my family all because of the decisions I chose to make. I have been a addict for about 13 years and I have a son now. The most important part of my life. I went to rehab for me and my family was doing good. But just like always I went back around all friends and old places and things. Now I’m back to where I started living in the definition of insanity. I just want a normal life like my grandparents had. Worried about paying the bills on time not spending the money for the bills on my next fix. I’m sorry I’m rambling. Like I said I never done this before and talked about my problem’s but thank you for listening.

5 Likes

Reaching out is always a good sign.
Understanding WHY you want to stop is even better !
Making an effort to do so is best of all, so I’m glad that you’re here, and I hope that you’ll check in regularly.
I certainly try to, and I find that it helps me. I’ve only been using this app for 22 days, but, as the saying goes, it’s a “one day at a time” kind of thing.

3 Likes

Hey man. Welcome. I’m glad you shared. It’s a pretty big deal to reach out and ask for help. I was the same way. I was a man and could take care of myself. I drank alone so I sure as hell was gonna quit alone. Well I found out that I couldn’t. I didn’t know how quit.

I found out that it’s takes an alcoholic/addict to help another alcoholic/addict. Someone who has been there. Someone who understands the lonelyness and utter defeat of addiction.