I don't trust my brain at all tonight

Right now my brain is telling me a beer or two is ok. A part of me is finding this repeated argument convincing. I play roller derby and tonight was my first practice after a two month hiatus. I almost always have a beer in the shower after practice. I’m usually amped up when I get home and that was my go to for winding down. I have to add that on one of my benders last month I spilled beer on the floor and it got on my wrist guards which now stink off beer. I had to smell in the whole drive home. I was naive to think practice wouldn’t be a trigger for me. I felt I needed to tell on myself instead of continuing to allow my brain to make its convincing argument. If my brain would get its life together that would be great. I hope everyone is going strong and had a great day in sobriety! Thanks for letting me vent.

5 Likes

Roller derby is amazing! I always wanted to do it. You must be some kinda bad ass. ^.^ As a chef i totally get that notion of having a beer to wind down. Theres always that residual bit of adrenal left after pumping out food from a grill at crazy speed for 2-3 hrs straight. The anticipated whisky or beer would always get me through thw shift but then the next day wouldnt be so great cuz theres no such thing as just one pff. Lol consider that youll have more energy to put into your sport. Cardio curbs cravings. Also definitely soak you pads over night cuz thats just the pits. I lost a good pillow to an IPA one night…still slept on it but yea yaknow… im ten days and im right here with ya lady

2 Likes

@Leelee77 try to think instead of how you’ll feel tomorrow morning. How much it will suck to reset and lose all your hard work. It’s not worth it!!!

2 Likes

Oh my gosh you should try it!! I did not know how to skate when I first started a few years ago. It’s a lot of fun if you don’t mind taking hits from people and giving hits. Hardly a bad ass but being short helps me with my speed and dodging hits. :wink: