I Felt Like Drinking

It was a very weird feeling and something that I haven’t felt in a VERY long time. I actually almost poured myself a drink. It was like I was on autopilot and not thinking. It wasn’t a craving, there wasn’t a trigger, it was just a feeling as if someone else had control over me; felt like my non-sober self.

I’m still sober. Just trying to figure out what happened.

Edit: I’m almost 14 months sober which makes the feeling for me even more uncomfortable.

3 Likes

you are a strong person. that auto pilot is a horrible feeling.

keep up the good work. ur not alone

its like my head tells me what to do on auto piolet. pick up the phone and talk it out.

it felt so good to have a sober thanksgiving

2 Likes

Some head doctors say it takes about as long to get over something as it does being in the thing…

I’ve been drinking for 28 years… And though new to sobriety… My head know when to go for a drink and just does… It knows it more than me telling it no… It can be a physical effort, though actually psychological, to not do what I’m telling myself to to… I think its a bit, but not quite, like breathing… The choice is already made… Its the unmaking of it that’s the effort … And I know that’s Going to be there for a long long time…

2 Likes

Before I relapsed 2 1/2 years ago I had 18 months of sobriety. I had faced many difficult situations and always fought off the desire to drink. I was in a good place, had started a new job, had a good relationship and then one day while on a weekend getaway I just pored myself a drink. I drank every single day after that until 12 days ago.

Looking back now I think it was my complacency with being sober. I was on autopilot. my life was good. I had stopped going to my meetings, stopped reminding myself of how dangerous alcohol was for me. Lesson learned now.