I’m not as bad at the others in AA

I am so frustrated. I am into my second month of sobriety and doing well, and am trying various AA meetings to ensure long-term sobriety. Went last night and realized people were so much worse off than me and I am feeling so confused. Even the people that I have been hanging out with. I know I am not supposed to compare-I know I don’t want to be addicted to this crap anymore. But when I go to meetings I question what I am doing there - I can’t help it. I am so frustrated and just wanted to vent. It seems the drinkers like me, moms who got themselves addicted to wine drinking at home are more active on the web and less in AA. I have been drinking for about 40 years. I think i felt it was becoming a problem for the last fifteen. I dunno. Ugh.

Do what you feel is right for you. I am active in AA but, it’s not for everyone. All I will say is that everyone’s bottom is different. It’s wherever you stopped digging. Best wishes on your journey.

4 Likes

Maybe you should start something: WMA…Wine Mothers Anonymous.

I guess like anything in this journey, it’s ups and downs. One meeting may be a bust, but another may inspire you.

You’re doing so well. Maybe you’ll find some other method suits you better. You already found someone you know in the meetings, right? Maybe just keep in contact with her and try SMART?

2 Likes

One of my all time favorite comparisons of whether or not you define yourself an alcoholic and want to be a part of the fellowship is this:
Did you come to AA because you dropped a martini glass poolside or because you crashed your car blitzed into a school bus? If you are in the rooms you (may) indentify yourself as an alcoholic regardless of how you get there. Keep It Simple

4 Likes