I’m Trying...Any advice on how to make it last

I’ve never used an app / group / forum before…so I’m hoping that by doing so I can make a real change.

I’ve been addicted to cocaine for 4 years now. Every time I say it’s the last time and it’s not. I’ll set artificial future dates. When my wife is pregnant became when my child is born now my beautiful daughter is 6 weeks today and I’ve used 3 times since her birth. (Better than the daily use I was doing, but not proud of it)

She deserves better and my wife deserves better.

I started my timer over after my last relapse last night. I know what my triggers are. It’s stress, I use as an escape but it only makes it worse. I have a ton of work and deadlines but I HAVE to find a better way to deal.

It feels strange to even type this and admit I’m an addict but I need change and I need to do better.

3 Likes

I just recently joined, and just recently quit the same outlet. Trying… I mean. But keep remembering you’re doing better than you were. Give yourself small goals and aim for those. Those small goals will add up to big progress and they are more reasonable and fulfilling then overwhelming yourself with the long road ahead.
It’s a cliché for a reason - one day at a time.
Also congrats on your baby :heart:

2 Likes

Thank you. And thank you for replying, it’s nice knowing that people can relate. This last time I was even telling myself while going to get it “what are you doing” yet I still did.

My biggest setback is if I see a particular friend I never have the strength to say no to one bump…then I leave and the high is gone…and I immediately go to purchase.

1 Like