I was sober for 4 months. I need to get back to it

I was sober for a while. I stepped off the wagon and am back at it same as before. I dont drink in public anymore, but i do put them down at home. I can NEVER have just a beer. It’s always off to the races after only 1. I need to find the motivation to keep me sober. I’ve been drinking for 20 years and honestly it hasnt fucked my life up all that much. Never lost a job, never got a dwi, never beat anyone, never any of the bad shit. I am a wild man tho. I end up blacking out and drunk calling people with no recollection of what i said. That SUCKS. I’d like to hear from others who have went through something similiar. Thanks everyone.

3 Likes

Hi. I used to do that too. I’d drink at home then get into fights with my husband when I wanted more and he didn’t want me to drive. I’d go out and do it anyway. I’m lucky I didn’t hurt someone or myself. I’d break things in the house- windows, chairs, doors. I’d angrily call or text people and then have no recollection of it the next morning. It got to the point that I was self harming. The last time I did it he called my parents. They came over and I was coherent enough to remember them being there and how worried and upset they were. It was a wake up call for me. Not only was I hurting myself but all of those around me and I didn’t want to do it anymore. It’s good you came here. There is a lot of support here.

3 Likes

Hi, I was at just over 4 months, same as you, before falling off the wagon HARD, and staying off for quite a while.
But, I’m back and at just over one month now, so I’m pretty happy about that. I never had any of the things that you mentioned either, and I suppose that one of the good things about not having friends is that there wasn’t anyone that I could have drunk-texted/called even if I had wanted to ! :laughing: