Ideas of books/game apps to distract from cravings please!

Hi, this is my first time being really active on the app. Been here for a week but sober for a month before I signed in. I’ve been pretty good at fighting my urges up to now as I’m pretty broke financially at the moment.
However, I just got received the news that I’ll receive quite a big amount $$ within the next few days. I can already feel it challenging my (still fresh) sobriety. I’m looking for recommendations for books, app games, anything that could keep my mind busy. Thanks a lot to everyone. We got this. :muscle:t3::raised_hands:t3:

3 Likes

There are lots of good ones (I use Audible a lot - take a walk & listen to an audiobook) but honestly the one thing that helped me really make good progress in sobriety in th me early days was joining a recovery group. I attend a group in my city & keep in touch with members throughout the week - I’ve made some friendships - and at moments of real vulnerability for me, those are the things that keep me sober, give me a person to reach out to.

1 Like

Indeed I feel like I should give a try to audio book, although I love the feeling and smell of a real book. Classic haha. :books: :older_woman:t3:

My issue with meetings right now is that I don’t have a car at the moment and I have pulmonary problems. Therefor, public contacts have to be very limited. I do have many support systems, but I’m mostly looking to focus my mind elsewhere when I’m home alone. Because I’m afraid I’ll be tempted :persevere:

3 Likes

Hello congrats on staying sober im distracting myself with learning how to make e books and other forms of passive income on u tube it helps me distract stay safe

2 Likes

Haha well GOT would def keep me busy for a while ! Any ideas is duly noted for my visit to the bookstore tomorrow :grimacing:

Thanks for the kind words and for the advice !! It’s a pretty cool idea. Finding ways to make money instead of throwing it away !