Isolation helping recovery

I am so sad about everything that is going on in the world and anxious like so many other people at this current time. But I was wondering if anyone else has found that isolation is actually helping their recovery? My main triggers were any social situations and I feel that being in isolation is taking away that temptation. I’ve just started a new job and theres a free bar at the office and my new colleague said it’s a shame we cant go for welcome drinks. I feel quite confident that I would have been able to say no to alcohol but I’m glad I dont even have to be put in that situation just while I’m in the early days of being sober. I feel selfish even writing this and finding the good out of a really bad situation but is anyone else in the same boat?

4 Likes

Isolation is definitely helping me. I’m pretty new at my job and they have March madness every year with a lot of drinking. I haven’t learned to socialize sober yet and I was getting pretty anxious about it in February, wondering how I was going to handle it. I was so happy when it was cancelled.

On the other hand, I have a few coworkers that lost family members to covid and I’m waiting for my husband’s test results to come back. Now I’m thinking maybe I would rather be navigating the work events over dealing with this virus.

6 Likes

I’m so sorry to hear about your coworkers losses, that is so terrible! And I hope your husband has a quick recovery :heart:

I completely know what you mean, when I think about everything that’s going on I’d definitely prefer to have to face those awkward situations of just saying no with new colleagues.

I find hanging out with certain people can be a trigger for me too, I’m just with my boyfriend at the moment in quarantine and apart from a few times where we’ve drunk alone (mostly ended disastrously, all on my part…) I dont really think about drinking with him as much as I do with other people. It helps that he barely drinks anyway!