Job search anxiety

I have been unemployed since January. I am not in a financial bind and I am blessed to have been able to just chill for the past 2 months and not look for a job.

I feel like I am getting anxiety about searching for a job. For example, I put in an application to Bank of America for a financial advisor position. It has been about 24 hours since I put in the application. Since putting in the application im an just stressed and ruminating on negative thoughts. What if they dont call me? Should I have done my resume differently? Their going to think Im too old… Their going to think it is dumb that I am trying to get my finance degree through an online school (WGU) 20 years after I dropped out of UNLV after 2 years.

Its like I have been stalling for the past 2 months because not doing anything to find a job has been better than the negative outcomes I have going through my head.

I found out about a huge job fair with over 130 companies that is tomorrow. Now tonight I ruminate about… Is my resume setup properly… am I over dressed, underdressed… im trying to switch careers a bit, will there be jobs I want, that they believe im qualified for?.. I can go on and on with scenarios I have worked up in my head.

Anyone else have issues like this?

6 Likes

Just go in there with your best foot forward, it’s all you can do!

Remember it’s also not one-way. Sure, you want the job they can give you. But you have skills to offer to them. Go in there knowing you have much to offer.

In the meantime, have you considered looking for something part-time while you hunt for something more permanent? Can help you not stress so much over the search. That’s what I did when I was unemployed 10+ years ago. Stocked shelves part-time for 3 months til I found a good fit in a full-time gig.

7 Likes

What if my aunt had testicles? Then she would be my uncle.

We can what if ourselves to death and ruminate into oblivion,