Just starting this path and could use some wisdom

Greetings, All,

This is my first post here, my first attempt at sobriety, my first recognition that I let my drinking get away from me. I need some advice about whether what I am going through is normal.

Strange that I did not recognize my problem earlier. I have been drinking for many years, but I always thought I was a moderate drinker. I never blacked out, never had a major hangover, never did things I associated with those “others who had a drinking problem.” Yet I was drinking at least 2 beers and a couple glasses of wine each weekday, and usually added one more to each weekend day.

What really woke me up was having thyroid problems and my doctor saying it could be related to my drinking. I put that on the back burner until I used an app to calculate how much I was really drinking. Those beers were IPAs, ~7.0 ABV. So really I was drinking 4-5 standard drinks each day. Every day. Almost without fail. Oh my God!

So started this sobriety experiment and have been lurking on this site for almost 2 weeks. I am 12 days sober. The Sober Time app has really helped.

At first it seemed easy, no real physical detox symptoms. Cravings, yes. But I could handle it. Then about day 10 I started having symptoms. I’m feeling intermittent anxiety and depression. I wake up in the night with my legs almost needing to run. Especially in the evenings (when I would be drinking) my mind feels like I am under the influence, foggy, clumsy with words. I’m tired and low energy and have less patience with others. Etc. etc.

So kind and experienced members, is this normal? Is this physical or psychological or both? How long does it take to start feeling better and freer and healthier?

I’m grateful to join this community.

JT

2 Likes