Just venting i guess

Barely a week into sobriety. I’ve been drinking for 10 years, not once have I truly wanted to stop and I didn’t. But last week I finally put the bottle down. At the same time I swore off cigs and weed. It wasn’t just about the alcohol. It was about being free from anything that would keep me from finding myself again and being a better person. I just found out I may be evicted after losing my job and I gave in and found an old cig and smoked it. I know this doesnt sound like much but I feel like I failed. Thank God I didn’t pick up the bottle but I picked up another vice. I guess I’m just frightened that I thought I could quit it all at once. And one slip up I beat myself up for. Anyway I know this sounds minimal just needed a place to vent. Thanks for coming to my ted talk

10 Likes

Baby steps man. Taking on all those vices at once takes courage. Welcome to TS.

4 Likes

First of all, good for you for not picking up the bottle or smoking the weeds! That’s a huge step considering trying to quit THREE vices at once. I tip my hat to you on that… I am currently on day 10 of no vape and I’ll admit, it has taken me longer than I thought it would to be able to put it down. I started one at a time… first thing that had to go was alcohol. Period.
Little did I know that by going to meetings, gaining a sponsor and doing the steps… this would lead me to having the right tools and strength to take on the smoking/vaping addiction. One vice at a time but alcohol had to go first. Then the drugs were easy because those always came into play if I was consuming alcohol.
I guess my point is that by focusing my energy on one addiction at a time is making the transition of other addictions a little more bearable because of AA and the 12 steps.