Losing a Friend

Hey everybody, this is my first post here. I’ve been using this app for a couple months and just realized there’s a forum last week.
I’m comin up on 4 months sober, which is the longest I’ve been clean in about 7 years. Everything’s been going about as smooth as it could be up until yesterday.
A good friend of mine, one of my best friends, that I’ve known since 6th grade committed suicide on Sunday night. I woke up to a phone call yesterday morning and was told what had happened. I knew my friend was struggling. The last time I talked to him was on Saturday. He told me he wasn’t doing to good. That there was a bunch of stuff “eating him up and killing him inside”.
I tried to convince him to come meet me at this event we have in MN called gopher state round-up. It’s a huge AA convention that usually has 7-8k attendees every year. I bugged him about it for a bit, but he kept saying no.
The last message I sent him was “work the program dude”, and his reply, the last message I ever received from one of my best friends, was “Lol”.
We used together. For a while. I’m the one that got him his first bag of heroin. And for the next year or so after that we did and went through a lot of shit together. We fucked each other over a few times, but always ended up hanging out again. He got clean before I did, he detoxed in jail and stayed clean afterwards, as far as I know. A little while later I went to detox and inpatient, now doing the whole outpatient and sober house thing, but that’s not important.
I’m really struggling with this. I’ve lost friends before, but nobody that I was this close to. I feel like I could’ve done something. I knew he was hurting. And if it wasn’t for me, maybe he would’ve never tried dope in the first place. He was already an opiate addict. But heroin brings everything to a whole new level.