Me and my rocky ride to recovery

Hi everyone.

I am brand new to Talking Sober. In light of my emergence, for which I feel really excited - I thought I’d share my story. Hopefully some of you will feel you know me a little better after reading it.

So! My name’s Kieran, I’m 30 years old and I now live in Germany. Although I was born and raised in the North of England.

I’d really like to get-to-it and share some of the reasons why you find me here today.

As a young teenager, around the age of 12 or 13 I was consuming alcohol with the sole purpose of getting drunk. Harmless fun with friends. So I thought. One cold night, aged 13, I was found lying unconscious outside a swimming complex in my local town. I ended up spending the night in hospital on a drip, to dilute the alcohol in my blood. I was eventually sent home with my very worried parents. Alarm bells must have been ringing.

I didn’t know it at the time, but at this early age, I was planting some very dangerous seeds. These seeds would sprout into huge problems for me, as I moved into adulthood. Problems I’m sure many of you will be able to relate to.

By the age of 15, I had a good few years of drinking under my belt. Stripes of honour, as I saw them. I could handle a skin full, and that’s what I did with my group of friends most weekends. I had my first drug experiences at this ripe age, and was already taking ecstasy.

At 18, the drinking hadn’t stopped. In fact, it just became a whole lot easier, as now I could obtain my alcohol legally. No more asking the older kids for a favour. In fact, I could help out the youngsters now too. And I did. Not a worry in the world, or as much as an inclination that I could be causing damage to other people as well as myself.

Anyhow, I would shortly be heading off to university. I remember getting out-of-it drunk every day for the first 2 weeks of uni. It was normal. And I loved it. Why wouldn’t I? At this time, drinking still felt like a hobby.