Medication and sobriety

I was talking to a very dear friend about my sobriety journey and we started talking about why I drank in the first place. I told him about how I’ve always struggled with anxiety, which is a huge part of the reason I began drinking. The only way to quiet my mind or sleep through the night was to drink. Therefore, one of my goals is to finally seek treatment for this. It’s crazy that I have a degree in psychology and offer help and support to people with mental illnesses without actually getting help myself right? He then went on to tell me that “everyone deals with anxiety” and I’m not sober if I start taking “drugs” (aka. Medication). I thought perhaps he said that out of concern that I would abuse them, but nope, even if I take them as prescribed, I guess I’m “not sober”. I know he’s wrong but my feelings are hurt and I’m not sure how to respond to him. I was just wondering if anyone had similiar experiences and how you dealt with them?

5 Likes

I have honestly wondered the same thing. I’m on a med that helps with anxiety and depression and I take as I’m suppose to. I am sober cause they aren’t being abused. Sorry your feelings were hurt but if they aren’t being abused and your under the care of a Dr I say your sober.

3 Likes

Your a :100: percent sober don’t let ones persons personal view take you off course,you own that you have made the effort took the leap of faith and got sober it’s now just working recovery and take an antidepressant doesn’t make you a druggie it makes you a person that’s willing to do whatever it takes to help your mental health,I hope you get to get some support for this you deserve and much more :heart::rainbow:

2 Likes