My day one again

Day one for me again . I am a 55 year old husband , father and grandfather. I have been drinking for about 40 years, i have never been a blackout , falling over kind of drinker. I always seem to have more than I intended to though. I’ve been sober curious for a couple of years , read a lot online , each time I decide to give up i get a voice after a few days telling me I will be okay moderating . Sat here now with a hangover and anxiety issues. I really hope that i can do it this time

13 Likes

Hi Ted! Welcome! 49 here and drank for 19 years. Sober on and off and even did rehab once. It’s never too late :heart: There’s wonderful and wise people in here. Utilize this app in your sober journey-search around and ask lots of questions :slight_smile: I’m glad you’re here!

3 Likes

Hey bud. 54 here. Drank since before it was legal for me to. Been a heavy drinker all my life. Got worse over the years till I was drinking on a daily basis, all day.
Have a good read around, and take in what people say. Have an open mind and work hard.
I’m now 679 days sober so if I can do it I’m pretty certain you can as well mate.
:facepunch:

2 Likes

It’s much better being a non drinker. Try it!

2 Likes

Ya Geo but how many SECONDS is that??!! :rofl:

2 Likes

Thanks for the support, I am ready to finally quit , only managed 20 days in the past , hopefully find lots of inspiration on here :pray:

3 Likes

Thanks so much for all your support, it means a lot to know people have my back :pray:

2 Likes

I relapsed twice. One was 3 months sober. The second was 6 months sober. I then went on a binge streak that ended up affecting my epilepsy. I finally said that’s it im done. The last 2.5 years have been my best. No more waking up sick and not wanting to play with the kids. No more forgetting what I said to my wife or my kids.
but “the farther you get into the woods, the less scary the woods appear.”

Good luck. Dont be a stranget!

3 Likes

58689270…1…2…3…4…5

2 Likes