Need help...effexor?

I started taking effexor first week of September and I honestly feel like it’s making my depression worse it helped at first but now about mid day I just feel drained and wiped out… I’m new to this so please help… my depression is a major trigger for me but I’ve always self medicated want to do it right this time

I tried effexor at one time, it didn’t help me much either… Have you talked to your psychiatrist about the symptoms you have been experiencing, the worsening depression? Because it seems to me that a month is a long enough time to judge it’s potential benefits, or lack thereof…

1 Like

The psychiatrist I seen was while I was in prison… Trying to find somewhere now to go that’s affordable

I took Effexor before. It kept me up at night. My doctor switched me to celexa (generic is citalopram) which I like a lot better. I recently had to increase my dose because of SAD. It’s still working well after several months though. I hope you find something that works for you. It makes a huge difference.

1 Like

Oh that’s got to be kinda stressful huh? :confused: Well, please forgive me if you know this already, but don’t just stop taking it. If you stop without tapering, it can cause some unpleasant side effects.

1 Like

Effexor helped me through a rough patch with depression but coming off of it was horrible. Withdrawl was tough. If it isn’t agreeing with you now, don’t be afraid of working with your doctor to see what other options might help.

2 Likes

I haven’t heard that…I have one day left and was going to try to get to a Dr ASAP but you’re telling me I better just go ahead and pay to get it this time? I’ve only been out of prison 5 days lol trying to get used to everything again a lot has changed in 2 years lol

2 Likes

Most advice is to not just stop taking antidepressants without talking to your doctor because the withdrawals can be tricky.