Nervous for My First AA Meeting

Hi there! I am brand new to this.
I am going to my first AA Meeting tomorrow.
I am super nervous and don’t know what to expect.
If anyone could reach out and give me advice, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks!
Meg

12 Likes

You dont need to be nervous at all. You will be with people who will make you feel comfortable. Just be honest if you feel like talking about what is going on. If you dont feel like talking just simply say it’s my first meeting and I am going to listen tonight. It’s really that easy. I was nervous at my first one too but I walked in set down and all was fine.

5 Likes

Hey Meg, welcome! I’m so glad you are going to your first meeting. My best advice is just make sure you get yourself through that door. If you can, get there a few minutes early and tell someone there that it is your first meeting. They should sort you out. And let us know how it goes. It has been a life changer for me. I’m off to meet part of my awesome sober lady crew for dinner then a meeting together. :bird:

8 Likes

I’m glad you made this decision Meg, I am also glad you are here.:pray::pray::grin::grin:

3 Likes

Thank you.
I am so nervous to walk through that door.
I know I have a problem and need help.
I’m super sensitive and emotional.
My emotions get the best of me and I want to drink to not “feel” those kinds of emotions.
So I pray tomorrow experience will be a good one.

6 Likes

Thank you so very much!

1 Like

Thank you.
I feel I will just want to listen.
I want to take it all in.

1 Like

Thank you. :pray:

Thank you. :pray::pray:

If I can share anything from my experience it is that the hardest part was just walking thru the door. Which if I may be completely Frank about, I was apprehensive af about!! BUT after walking thru the door I was greeted with a hug and a warm welcome. Now, I’m not normally a touchy feely kind of guy but it was exactly what I needed. All meetings differ in some way but what doesn’t is the support.