New here. Day 1 of cold turkey off cannabis

Hey, I’m new to the app so I wanted to introduce myself :slight_smile: My name is Steph, I’m 24 and today I’m going to try and quit cannabis for the 5th? Time. I’ve smoked about 2grams a day every day for atleast 7 years. I suffer with anxiety and depression and have done for about 9 years, I first turned to weed as an escape from an abusive relationship and it felt like it helped to start with, but now it feels like it’s making my anxiety alot worse. As much as I don’t want to stop smoking it, I know I have to.
I don’t know what made me download this app, I think it’s a mixture of wanting help/not wanting to feel weird and alone.
Does anyone have any advice on getting through withdrawal symptoms and restlessness? When the restlessness kicks in I try to do activites like drawing or running or playing games but they just don’t fill the hole like weed does. Tbh any help or advice would be great.
Thank you

1 Like

Hi, I’m giving up pot as well, along with my DOC (alcohol, adderall). Day 2 for me at present, have had some long stretches of clean time here and there in the past but screwed up big time this past weekend.

I’m like you in that weed used to make my anxiety and depression better…but over time, it turned on me. I would sit there, lost in my own mind, just dissecting and poking mental holes in every aspect of my life…and yet I would still light up. It would impact my thought patterns, often influencing them in a negative way, 24 hrs a day, even though I would only smoke at night.

Things I would recommend doing is, if you haven’t already, dispose of all drugs and related paraphernalia. This removes temptation and immediate access to your drug. Its the only thing that worked for me in the past. In regards to the restlesness etc, going for a run/other exercise always helps me when i am feeling anxious.