New here. Venting / advice

Newbie here, been sober for 9 going on 10 months now. I guess I have a question for anyone who has a good stretch of sobriety. When you get stressed or down does it still cross you mind that a drink will calm you down? I’m a firefighter and been working crazy amounts of overtime the past couple months and needless to say it took a bit of a toll on my marriage. I almost hit a breaking point about a week ago where I was sitting in my car debating on buying an airline shot of what was my favorite whiskey to take the edge off. I didn’t do it but it annoyed me that my brain went straight to alcohol being a cure for my stress still. Does it get easier ?

10 Likes

Mate I’m 21 months sober and I don’t need stress to make me think about drink, if I’m breathing I want a drink. That’s how I know I’m an alcoholic. The difference now is we have a choice, we have found a new freedom. Life’s still gonna go on regardless of what we do but at least while we’re sober we can deal with things better. I used to think after a few months sober I had cracked it but it takes years to put all the broken pieces in the right place. we’ve never dealt with anything before so the rest of our lives is going to be one big learning curve. And the best bit is we only have to do it today. Maybe today we will learn something that makes tommorow a little bit easier.
Congrats on your sober days mate and thanks for all you do :+1:

6 Likes

Appreciate it Brotha,
It got tough especially know what I would end up losing if I touched that stuff again but for a split second my mind justified it. Either way appreciate you taking the time to reply man. It really helps

1 Like

Yep, your mind goes to the coping mechanism you know, which is alcohol. I have had some family stress recently and the urge to ‘escape’ via booze was definitely there, even at 22 months. I think it will get easier, each time you resist you weaken that mental link.

3 Likes