New, need help

I’ve been drinking for the past 13 years and it’s not always been a problem. I go through dark periods where I black out and act irrationally every time I drink. It seems like an impossibility to just “have a drink or two”. I lost my last job due to drinking and now fear for my current job. Last weekend I went to my bosses daughter’s sweet 16 and of course had to black out and act a fool. I blacked out and did not behave properly in front of my boss (a surgeon), his daughter, family, manager, coworkers, people we work closely with, people I’ve only dealt with over the phone (what a great first impression), other doctors that attended, and God knows who else. For the past few months I’ve been starting fights, hit my cousin, punched my brother in the face (he bled), hit friends, hit my boyfriend, started fights at my best friend’s birthday party, hit my boyfriend in front of his sister (caused major problems), repeated things my best friends told me in privacy, and cry hysterically in front of people (I never used to cry in front of people…this is so embarrassing for me). Today I told my boyfriend I was going to quit drinking (again) and just 30 minutes ago he kept offering me beer. Alcohol constantly surrounds me, I have no self control, I’m digging myself in a hole, and I feel that I have no help or support. What can I do??

3 Likes

Hi Ozzysox,

Because your name is ozzy can I assume you live in the land down under?

I’m sorry to hear what you’re going through, did you read my other comment about starting with a doctor and being open and honest with them?, so that way alot of the things you want to solve can start falling into place and don’t be afraid to seek help from numerous people sometimes you need a net of people to fall on.

Alot of people on this forum are extremely lovely with alot of knowledge, articles and advice. Hope we can help you, we are all always here to listen x

3 Likes