New to here :)

Hi ! My name is Dejanna but you can call me Dj! I’m 26 and I live in Los Angeles ca. I’m new to this but I’m definitely glad I found it. I have been battling with addiction to alcohol for probably 10 years. I never really thought I had a problem up until maybe 2 years ago. I drank since I was like 15/16 and did other various hard drugs. But drinking was always my go to. The only thing I just couldn’t seem to shake. When im sad, drink when I’m happy, drink, when I’m mad, drink. Doesn’t matter the situation I always looked to drinking was my answer. I never realized how bad I actually got when I drank because I blacked out every time. I was acting out doing things I didn’t remember. I would get violent or over emotional. I started getting in trouble with the cops. Ended up going to jail n that was definitely a reality check. I also suffer from bipolar so that makes everything more difficult. I didn’t realize how I was hurting not only myself but others closer to me. There was also a point I was extremely suicidal at one point I tried taking my own life. Luckily my friend happened to walk in and find me unconscious with a bottle of vodka and empty bottle of aspirin. That was definitely a low point. But I still didn’t quit. I think it took me hurting my boyfriend and friends that really snapped me out of it. Anyways long story short I been almost 2 months sober. It’s hard because I’m a dancer so I’m surrounded by alcohol every night when I work and dealing with the customers sober is a little distressing, but I guess in a way it’s helping me really learn discipline. Anywho. I’m glad I found this forum and to see all you people battling similar demons that I am. I felt kind of like a freak and really alone. I could use any support I can get and am definitely willing to be there for anyone who needs or wants a friend. I’m excited for my life ahead of me and the road to a better sober life and a clear mind and soul.

Hope you all have a great week