New to sobriety, new coping mechanisms?

I’m new to being sober and here recently it seems like life has come crashing down, all within the last 3 weeks, my depression and anxiety medication have completely stopped working, my girlfriend came home and told me she was leaving, and I’ve taken FMLA to sort through emotions that have been buried under the last 5 years of drinking. I’m going stir crazy sitting at home as I’m an introvert when sober, all of my friends just want to go to bars and I know it’s something I cant do. So if anyone with a little more sobriety under their belt give me some ideas for coping mechanisms I would so greatly appreciate it. It seems all I do is sit at home alone with my thoughts anymore and I know that needs to change as well.

1 Like

@Tom3AM Aloha from Hawaii. I’ve attempted sobriety many times, but this time is different. I am sober 13 days now and I can tell you some strategies I’ve learned the hard way.

You are an introvert - so get out of your house, grab a book and read some place in public. You can’t sit and wander in the field of your head alone without supervision. It’s like a child playing by the side of the road - they are going to get hit eventually. Us alcoholics will drink. You can be an introvert in public. You don’t have to engage anyone.

What are your interests? You said you go to bars - do you like pool? Find a legit pool hall (they usually don’t serve liquor.)

Pursue an interest or start journaling. Anything… Clean your house - do stupid shit like cleaning the window sills or start fixing the stuff you’ve been wanting to, but put off because you were drunk.

And see a doctor - get some meds. You are sick and there is no shame in that.

Stay strong and I’ll be rooting for you!

4 Likes

Hi - welcome!