Newbie here. Help with sleep needed

So I am a drinker. I put a bottle of wine away every night of the week. My weight has gone up by 4 stone over 4 years and my health is deteriorating. The reason I drink is to ease my high anxiety levels which are particularly bad in an evening meaning it can take me hours to fall to sleep if i was sober. I dislike day drinking and to me, my drinking serves as a sleeping aid and nothing more. I have joined this site today because I know I can not continue like this. I have tried herbal sleeping tablets and relaxation apps. Does anyone have any helpful advice on sleep without alcohol? Thanks in advance.

Your story sounds like I could’ve written it myself. That’s me exactly. I am
On day 14 now not sure about you? One thing I can say is alcohol numbs anxiety short term but definitely increases it long term and creates a vicious cycle. Two weeks in my anxiety is much much less. Yes I have tried sleep apps and some work. There is one called sleep easy by Shazzy I find good . What find has helped most this time is this app which has helped adjust my mindset a lot through reading all the posts and advice on here. Reading a book at night time till I can’t keep my eyes open. Using lavender essential oil in my bath, on a hankie and on my pillows also helps with relaxation but the first few days sober will be tough no matter what. I’ve tried many times before but am more determined than ever this time but just taking one day at a time. Also walking helps your body relax and herbal teas. It’s trial and error for whatever works for you. Stick around in here and don’t be afraid to ask anything no matter how trivial you may think it is I guarantee there will be someone else who will identify with it. Good luck on your journey and stay strong you can do it x :heart:

1 Like