Newfound Sobriety

Hi. My name is Heather. I’ve been sober from alcohol for 20 days :grinning: One morning I just decided to stop.
I had been drinking for about 15 years but the three months leading up to my sobriety I was straight drunk. I had been helping a friend who just lost his best friend. I could feel his pain in my heart. So we just stayed drunk. This is the first time I had ever been in a co dependent relationship and it was easy for me to see how unhealthy that was becoming. So I just stopped drinking and now I don’t want to go back to where I was.
I feel better. I feel more. I started going to the chiropractor, turns out my shoulders were pretty messed up but I think the alcohol was numbing some of the physical pain I was experiencing.
Iv started to paint again, a hobby I forgot how much I enjoyed. I’m listening to music again.
I’m eating way too much! I started drinking soda water, that’s new and fun. I also started a journal, mostly to track my behaviors; sleeping, drinking water, etc.

I own a microbrewery…
I’m nervous.
And I just wrote way too much :kissing_heart:

44 Likes

Welcome Heather! I’m glad you made the choice to quit drinking. We are both on day 20! Congrats!

4 Likes

Welcome Heather :hugs: Congratulations on 20 days, you made a good decision in quitting alcohol.
You don’t have to be nervous, this is a great community where everybody helps and supports each other :kissing_smiling_eyes:

2 Likes

Hi Heather. Welcome to TS.

You didn’t write too much. You share whatever it is you need to share here. We are here to listen and to give support.

Congratulations on your 20 days.

2 Likes

Oh trust me girl, that was in no way writing too much. I’m definitely a diarrhea of the mouth queen myself. Or diarrhea of the thumbs??? Anywho, it matters not. Type on!

Welcome to the most amazing forum ever IMO. You will find so much here and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! :kissing_closed_eyes:

3 Likes