No more control

So my courses just finished one month ago. Since then I started drinking almost every day, sometime too much so I could call for drugs and don’t even remember it. It’s been two weeks that I figured that my behaviours were problematic and I should stop. I quit for 4 days then started again. Yesterday I drank just because I had to work but I had so much anxiety so the booze would calm me and let me go thru the night. Then at midnight I said this has to stop, I’m being out of control: the alcool has been controlling me for the last month.

Theses bad habits of drifting for a week or two started around 2 years ago when me and my girlfriend broke up. Well, she left for a lot of reason, but my behaviours when I was drunk were one of them. When she left I started home drinking for days in row, then weeks. I took 3 semesters off the school (I’m a Phd student so I could just pay my semesters and put myself in “research”…) which make me a little late in my program as of today, but I’m ok with it. I mean, I WAS ok with it, because after those 3 semesters, I was seeing a psychotherapist and I also saw a very nice woman working in an addiction center who helped me when I figured I had a problem with the booze. So I was fine with all the money I spent, the time I lost and the friendship I failed, because I started to work on myself seriously and started to control my drinking. So I restarted school, full motivation. 1 month off booze and I was more advanced then I did in one year. I celebrated for a week (relapses), then realized I couldn’t control it still. I did then 50 days off, that is my personal record. Then it was Christmas times, off school, tons of partys so I drank for 3 weeks. The school restarted so I stopped again for 1 month, then relapses, etc. Until the end of the semester when I drifted for the last month.